What are the minimum eligibility requirements to hold a liquor license? You must either be a U.S. citizen or have permanent resident alien status. You also must be 21 years of age or older & you cannot be a convicted felon or a police officer with arresting powers.
Are there any restrictions regarding where my venue can be located? If you have a liquor store, wine store or on-premises license, your venue can’t be within 200 feet of a school or a place of worship.
Can I get a temporary permit while I wait for my liquor license application to go through? Yes, however, if your business is in a city with a population of over one million, you have operate for 30 days before filing for a permit.
During what hours can I operate my business? Check with your county, which regulates business hours. New York City hours, on the other hand, are regulated by the state.
Can we deliver alcohol along with food if someone places an order? Yes, you can deliver beer if you have an on-premise license and if the order was placed in your establishment (orders placed over the phone or by fax are fine, as long as you received them in your venue).
How old do my servers & bartenders have to be to serve alcohol? If the employee’s duties are to handle alcoholic beverages, they have to be 18 years old.
Do I have to pay the full fee when I submit my liquor license application or can I be put on an installment plan? The entire fee is required upfront – installment plans are no longer in effect as of August of 2002.
Find and download liquor license forms here or call (518) 474-3114. Mail your application to: New York State Liquor Authority, Church Street Station, P.O. Box 3817, New York, NY, 10008-3817.
For more information, visit the New York State Liquor Authority.